grocery cart

What’s in your basket?

These days there are a lot of books and documentaries highlighting the evils of the North American, fast food diet. The food channel and celebrity chefs have made cooking fashionable again…or have they.

On my recent visit to the U.S. I found myself in one of those big box food stores, and decided to take note of people’s shopping carts to see what they were buying. I have to admit, I have a fixation with checking out what people buy in the grocery store.  My observations disturbed me, and as you’ll see from the photos, there were very few fresh fruits and vegetables and mostly processed, boxed meals.  It’s a shame, because not only is this diet unhealthy but I believe North Americans are losing the ability to cook from scratch.  Many people are missing out on the pleasure cooking for friends and family brings, not to mention the added expense of those processed meals.

“I believe North Americans are losing the ability to cook from scratch.”

I’ll admit I’m a little obsessed, I make almost everything from scratch, bread, pasta, salad dressing, granola, etc. etc. and we eat very well AND inexpensively. I track my food expenses and my wife and I eat for, on average, $50 per week.  If that’s not compelling enough for you to try cooking from scratch I don’t know what is.  This is my first installment of “what’s in your basket?” stay tuned for the next one in the weeks to come.

a basket full of cheesiesThis person exists on snack foodNo fresh veggies hereNo fresh veggies here

boxes of foodLots of boxes of foodno fresh food hereNothing fresh in this basket

3 thoughts on “What’s in your basket?

  1. So apt! Sometimes you can’t help but look. A lot of celebrity chefs say “if you don’t have butter, cream or salt, than you can’t cook!” It’s a load of rubbish…and so are the contents of those baskets.

    People are so concerned about the costs of food…but are they really?? My husband and I budget every week in order to have/ plan healthy and nutritious meals, to save money (sourcing the cheapest shops and to prevent food wastage. An average shop is £60-75/week…. If we were to load our trolley with those shoppers ‘snacks’ (aka what looks to be some cheesy poofs?…biscuits… and oh wait… who needs that much juice and sugary cereal???!! )…we’d be spending over a 100 quid easily. It’s really not that hard to shop ‘healthy’… and after all, if all you could afford was dried legumes or fruit loops and pre-formed meat slices made from pig’s trotters…well, I know which one I’d go for!

    Cooking from scratch (especially a plant based diet), is good for the body, mind and soul. It’s all a mind-set; healthy living requires planning…so you buy healthy foods and cook a nice, nutritious meal… and then you’re going to take the time to enjoy it…not ‘wolfing’ something down that took 5 minutes to cook in the microwave. People need to start looking at the bigger picture.

    I am looking forward to your next addition. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment, my sentiments exactly! I’ve heard that low income people can’t afford to eat healthy because it’s too expensive and cheaper to feed a family at McDonalds, rubbish! Fast food is expensive! You can make a lot more scratch-made food for the same amount of money you’d spend at a fast food restaurant or by buying processed, pre-made meals.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Leading A Healthy Lifestyle & Weight Loss: A Personal Account | Eat2Health Blog

Tell me what you think

