Aisles of wine

Can you have too much of a good thing?

This week I’m writing from the Southern USA as I do what Canadians do, chase a little sunshine and warmth.

Ask a Canadian what they bring back from the US and I’m sure 99% will say, booze. We Canadians get hit with whopping taxes on booze and cigarettes, I’m not passing judgement, the taxes afford us the quality of life we’re used to in Canada.

Liquor distribution in Ontario, and most of Canada, is provincially regulated and I’ve always liked it that way. It’s one of the things that differentiates us from our Southern neighbours. But I’m starting to warm to the US system as I’ve had more exposure to it. Private liquor stores don’t have to be seen as blights on a neighbourhood, contributing to crime and degradation of social morals.

Total Wine is an example of a great retail store chain for liquor, it’s almost too good. In fact I find the shopping experience at Total Wine overwhelming. Shopping at Total Wine is like a Costco for booze. With so much selection, it’s hard to choose but I guess there are worse predicaments to be in.

There are rows and rows of wine and accessories with whole aisles dedicated to single varietal. I saw showcases of quality scotches and a couple brandies where the price was north of $2800.

I’ll definitely be stopping by Total Wine on the way home for a little “duty free”.

cheap booze

I’m like a kid in a candy store:)

Showcases of quality single malt scotch.

Showcases of quality single malt scotch.

Life is good in Sarasota Florida

Life is good in Sarasota Florida

One thought on “Can you have too much of a good thing?

Tell me what you think

